The Blind Men and the Elephant

We menen nogal eens iets te weten.
Ons daarbij beroepend op eigen ervaring of ‘zien is geloven’ en ‘meten is weten’.
Toch blijken we de plank nogal eens mis te slaan.
Hier een mooie metafoor voor dat fenomeen die op veel gebieden en in veel situaties toepasbaar lijkt.

AIKIDO-NO-SEKAI

Six blind men of Hindostan cartoonThis is a poem written by John Godfrey Saxe (1816-1887), as an adaptation of a famous Indian story. It is widely known in Buddhist and Jainist traditions. I thought I will share this as a reminder to everyone that each of us has our own version of universal truths, and each of  us has had a glimpse of these truths based on our individual experiences and walks.

In any given topic, maybe we are just talking about the same thing, from different angles? Instead of arguing “I am right and you are wrong”, maybe we should start learning to respect, reflect on, and appreciate the different views of the elephant as expressed by different people who has touched it. That through our different perspectives, we can see more clearly what the elephant really is, and how big the elephant is. Only then can we truly begin to dig deeper and realize the…

View original post 327 woorden meer

Over Dick

What about me?
Dit bericht werd geplaatst in van schijn en werkelijkheid, Varia en getagged met , , , , , , , . Maak dit favoriet permalink.

Een reactie op The Blind Men and the Elephant

  1. Rob Alberts zegt:

    In mijn laatste blog schrijf ik over het begrip kijken.

    Zie ik juist?
    Of moet ik mijn perceptie aanpassen?

    Soms storm ik als de spreekwoordelijke Olifant door andermans porseleinkast.

    Het wordt tijd dat ik een beetje afstand neem om mijn toekomst beter te kunnen bepalen.
    En dit Olifantenverhaal zal daar zeker bij helpen.

    Vriendelijke groet,

Geef een reactie

